Virginia Annual Report
What is a Virginia Annual Report?
The Virginia Annual Report is an ongoing report that some business entities need to file annually to the Virginia State Corporation Commission (SCC). This report will ensure the business remains in good standing year after year.
Purpose of the Virginia Annual Report
The purpose of the Virginia annual report is to keep the state of Virginia’s records up-to-date on your company’s activity, as well as any changes or developments you may have made over the past year.
The information required in an annual report changes depending on what that particular state dictates in its state statutes. In Virginia, that required information involves mostly names, titles, and addresses that may have changed in the preceding year.
What is a Virginia Registration Fee?
The Virginia Annual Registration Fee is the amount due annually from a business in Virginia, domestic or foreign. A notice of the annual registration fee assessment is mailed to the business’s registered agent with information explaining how the fee was determined.
Much like Virginia’s annual report, the annual registration fee must be paid yearly to ensure your company stays compliant and in good standing with the SCC. Since LLCs do not need to file an annual report each year, you can think of the annual registration fee as standing in place of that.
Virginia Business Entity Requirements
An uncommon perk when you start an LLC in Virginia is not having to worry about filing an annual report—they aren’t required for LLCs. Of course, keep in mind that Virginia LLCs are still required to pay the annual registration fee of $50 due at the end of the LLC’s anniversary month, starting the year after formation.
Virginia Corporation Requirements
On the flip side, if you’ve decided to start a Virginia corporation, both the annual report and registration fee are required for you. The registration fee amount will vary, depending on the number of shares you’ve authorized for your company. For example, 5,000 shares or fewer will run you $100 in registration fees. You’ll get a notice of the fee assessment beforehand from the SCC (sent through your registered agent). Both the annual report and registration fee are due at the end of the LLC’s anniversary month, starting the year after formation.
FAQs: Virginia Annual Compliance
Find out more about Virginia annual reports and registration fees below, including how to file them and when they are due.
- What Information Goes Into A Virginia Annual Report?
- Are There Different Annual Reports In Virginia?
- When Is My Virginia Annual Report Due?
- Do I Still Need to File If There Are No Changes?
- How Do I File my Virginia Annual Report?
- Does The Virginia Annual Report Have A Filing Fee?
- What Happens If I Don’t File My Virginia Annual Report?
- How Much Does The Annual Registration Fee Cost?
- When Is The Registration Fee Due?
- How Do I Pay The Registration Fee?
- What Happens If I Don’t Pay The Registration Fee?
What Information Goes Into A Virginia Annual Report?
The information you will need to update or verify on the report generally includes the following:
- Corporation name
- SCC ID number
- Registered agent information
- Number of authorized shares
- Principal office address
- Director and officer information
Remember that your Virginia registered agent will receive a pre-printed Virginia annual report form from the Virginia SCC with your corporation’s current information listed.
Are There Different Annual Reports In Virginia?
Yes, there are different types of annual reports that exist for Virginia businesses. The Virginia annual report is the most common type of report required from businesses, and should not be confused with the other kinds of annual reports your business may be responsible for, such as the “Annual Shareholder Report.”
When Is My Virginia Annual Report Due?
The annual report due date is on or before the last day of your corporation’s anniversary month every year, starting the year after you incorporate. The annual report should be filed alongside the annual registration fee. If you’d like to file your annual report early, you can do so no earlier than 3 months before the due date.
Do I Still Need to File If There Are No Changes?
How Do I File My Virginia Annual Report?
A Virginia annual report form will be sent to your registered agent in the mail to then be forwarded to you. The form will have your company’s existing information on it, ready to be updated where necessary. From there, you can choose to file online or by postal mail.
If you choose to mail your form in, use the address listed below:
State Corporation Commission
PO Box 1197
Richmond, VA 23218
If you did not receive the pre-printed annual report by mail from your registered agent, you have a few options:
- You can request another form here at the SCC website,
- Call (804) 371-9733 or (866) 722-2511 to speak with the department, or
- Email them at firstname.lastname@example.org with any questions.
If you choose to go online to the Virginia SCC website to take care of this filing, you’ll use the Clerk’s Information System (CIS). This is the quicker, more secure method to handling your Virginia annual report and registration fee. You can check out their annual report submission how-to guide on filing electronically if you’d like more information.
Does The Virginia Annual Report Have A Filing Fee?
No, the Virginia annual report itself does not have its own fee. There is a separate annual registration fee due alongside the annual report for corporations, however.
What Happens If I Don’t File A Virginia Annual Report?
If you don’t file your annual report by the due date, you’ll fall out of good standing with the state of Virginia, which can eventually lead to the business’s dissolution, causing potential serious issues, such as a loss of limited liability.
How Much Does The Annual Registration Fee Cost?
The Virginia annual registration fee varies depending on the business entity type.
For LLCs, the annual registration fee is a flat $50.
For corporations, the annual registration fee varies based on the number of authorized shares:
When Is The Registration Fee Due?
Similar to the annual report, the registration due date is on or before the last day of your corporation’s anniversary month every year, starting the year after you incorporate. The annual registration fee should be filed alongside the annual report. You can pay your annual registration fee up to 3 months before the due date.
How Do I Pay The Registration Fee?
You can pay your annual registration fee by mail or online using the Virginia SCC website’s CIS tool.
What Happens If I Don’t Pay The Registration Fee?
The penalty fee for LLCs who do not pay the registration fee on time is $25 and falling out of good standing with the state of Virginia.
The penalty for corporations who do not pay the registration fee on time is 10% of the corporation’s total annual registration due or $10 (whichever is greater). If the corporation also does not file the annual report, the corporation will fall out of good standing with the state of Virginia.